search account giftcard shopping-cart plus arrow-right checkmark paypal
The Walworth Beauty

Added to Cart

Sold by Books Marketplace

More deals you may like

The Walworth Beauty

Mich?le Roberts

Low stock
 Marketplace - Sold by Books Marketplace

$16.80

+ Delivery
Leaves warehouse in 1-2 business days
See delivery information

Qantas Points

You can earn and use Qantas Points at Kogan.com
Qantas Frequent Flyer PointsLogin or Sign up to earn an extra 8 Qantas Points on this purchase
Additional points may be earned during promotional periods. T&Cs apply.

Overview

Marketplace Listings Banner

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson

2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.

1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels’ promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house.

As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine’s neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michele Roberts at her masterful best.

Create your free Kogan.com account

Create your free Kogan.com account

Already have an account? Log In

By clicking Create Account (or signing in with Facebook, Google or Paypal), you agree to the Kogan.com Terms & Conditions and to receiving marketing communications from Kogan.com. Remember, you can unsubscribe at any time.