search account giftcard shopping-cart plus arrow-right checkmark paypal
Island in the East - Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Added to Cart

Sold by Books Marketplace

More deals you may like

Island in the East - Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Jenny Ashcroft

Low stock
 Marketplace - Sold by Books Marketplace

$21.95

+ Delivery
Leaves warehouse in 1-2 business days
See delivery information

Qantas Points

You can earn and use Qantas Points at Kogan.com
Qantas Frequent Flyer PointsLogin or Sign up to earn an extra 10 Qantas Points on this purchase
Additional points may be earned during promotional periods. T&Cs apply.

Overview

Marketplace Product

‘Exotic and mysterious – I was gripped’ Dinah Jefferies

Island in the East is a stunner’ Kate Furnivall

‘Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read’ Gill Paul

‘A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric’ Rachel Rhys

**************

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything

Singapore, 1897

Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair. They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941

Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae’s past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that’s been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful – with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama – Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees.

More praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

’Beautifully described . . . A moving love story’ Tracy Rees

‘It’s impossible to put this book down.’ Kate Riordan

‘A great read.’ Judith Lennox

’A summer must-read’ Red

‘Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale’ My Weekly

’Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.’ Nicola Cornick

’Absolutely brilliant’ Kerry Fisher

‘Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.’ Emma Rous

’Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.’ Nikola Scott

‘First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots’ Tracy Buchanan

‘Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable’ Iona Grey

’A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end’ Rachel Burton

Create your free Kogan.com account

Create your free Kogan.com account

Already have an account? Log In

By clicking Create Account (or signing in with Facebook, Google or Paypal), you agree to the Kogan.com Terms & Conditions and to receiving marketing communications from Kogan.com. Remember, you can unsubscribe at any time.