search account giftcard shopping-cart plus arrow-right checkmark paypal
A Sister's Struggle

Added to Cart

Sold by Books Marketplace

More deals you may like

A Sister's Struggle

Mary Gibson

Low stock
 Marketplace - Sold by Books Marketplace

$34.50

+ Delivery
Leaves warehouse in 1-2 business days
See delivery information

Qantas Points

You can earn and use Qantas Points at Kogan.com
Qantas Frequent Flyer PointsLogin or Sign up to earn an extra 17 Qantas Points on this purchase
Additional points may be earned during promotional periods. T&Cs apply.

Overview

Marketplace Product

A young girl struggles to keep body and soul together in 1930s London, while her proud but spendthrift widowed father refuses to accept charity.

The heartfelt new saga from Mary Gibson, bestselling author of Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts . London, 1935. Ruby is always hungry, but she will go without if it means her young brothers can eat. 1930s Bermondsey might be called the larder of London, with its pie, pickle and jam factories, but for the poor working classes, starvation is a heartbeat away. When Ruby’s neighbour suggests she go to the Methodist Mission for free food, Ruby knows her father will be furious, but that she has no other option. It is a decision that will change the course of her life forever and lead her to face a terrible choice between duty and a great love. Praise for A SISTER’S STRUGGLE : ‘ Affecting, poignant and intensely emotional … A stirring and captivating read guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings that is absolutely perfect for fans of Call the Midwife ‘ Julie, Bookish Jottings . ‘ Beautifully written book. I feel so honoured to have witnessed this raw and heartfelt story and I am hoping this review will give the book the justice it deserves … An emotional and heartfelt journey […] told with pure honesty and heart ‘ Stacey is Reading . ‘A brilliant saga filled with intrigue and questions … Full of friendship, family and choices , it’s a book I can highly recommend to all saga fans. But do remember to set aside a day to read, because once you start, you won’t want to put the book down ‘ Lauren, Mixing Reality with Fiction . ‘ Brilliant depiction of London and life during trying times . I immediately wanted Ruby and her family to be OK and was rooting for them’ Katherine’s Book Universe . ‘ Perfect reading on a cold winter’s night … Set around the same time as the popular Call the Midwife , so if you are a fan of that you are sure to like this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much that it’s one I will read again’ Rachel Bustin. ‘A truly beautiful book … It gives you a glimpse into real London in the 1930s … An eye-opening book, and if you love Call the Midwife , you will LOVE this book ‘ Cara’s Book Boudoir .

Create your free Kogan.com account

Create your free Kogan.com account

Already have an account? Log In

By clicking Create Account (or signing in with Facebook, Google or Paypal), you agree to the Kogan.com Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy and to receiving marketing communications from Kogan.com. Remember, you can unsubscribe at any time.